jump to navigation

5K results are online! September 19, 2006

Posted by Brian in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, the results have been posted for the American Heart Association’s 2006 Mercer County 5K Heart Run.

I finished in 56th place overall (out of 109 runners) with a time of 27 minutes, 54 seconds.

Official results

What these results also show is that I finished 12th out of 16 males between the ages of 30 and 39, which sucks. But at least I didn’t come in last within my gender-age group.

One of my fellow runners from Rider, Mike (who came in a very solid 19th overall), and I are planning to run another 5K next month. The Susan G. Komen Foundation N.J. Race for the Cure will be held just up the road from Rider at Bristol-Myers Squibb’s headquarters in Princeton on Oct. 29, so we’re thinking of registering for that.

Up until Saturday, the only running I had done was on the track near my apartment. I found it a lot easier to run on a course with other people pushing me than it is to run on a track, where I keep thinking to myself, “Eight more laps to go…seven more laps to go,” and so on.

Anyway, I’m going to try to do four or five 5K runs a year from now on…probably two or three from March-May and two or three in September and October. I’ll keep June-August open for cycling.

Comments»

1. Update No. 7 – Back in training 2013: Preparing for my first 10K | BK's Blog - November 7, 2013

[…] any official race. In fact, the best 5K time I have ever recorded in an official race was 27:54 in my first 5K in September 2006. However, I do recall recording slightly faster 5K times when I used to track my runs with a […]


Leave a Reply

